02.02.2022,14:02 2094 0

Perpetual Greatness: The Most Man of the Series Awards in Tests

Perpetual Greatness: The Most Man of the Series Awards in Tests

Any decent cricketer can get a Player of the Match award, or have a good run of form to clinch the prize for the series, but in order to earn such prizes time and again one has to be an exceptional cricketer. This list is populated by 10 players of exactly such description.

All of these cricketers showed not just exceptional skill, but also had incredible longevity to their playing careers. These are the very opposite of one-match wonders — they are among the most consistent players of all time. Here are 10 cricketers with the most Man of the Series awards in Tests.

List of players with the most Player of the Series awards in Tests

Player Span Mat Series Awards
M Muralitharan (ICC/SL) 1992-2010 133 61 11
R Ashwin (INDIA) 2011-2022 84 34 9
JH Kallis (ICC/SA) 1995-2013 166 61 9
Imran Khan (PAK) 1971-1992 88 28 8
Sir RJ Hadlee (NZ) 1973-1990 86 33 8
SK Warne (AUS) 1992-2007 145 46 8
Wasim Akram (PAK) 1985-2002 104 43 7
S Chanderpaul (WI) 1994-2015 164 60 7
MD Marshall (WI) 1978-1991 81 21 6
CEL Ambrose (WI) 1988-2000 98 27 6

1. Mutti

1. Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)

the list with an incredible 11 Man of the Series awards is Sri Lankan spin maestro Muttiah Muralitharan. Playing 61 series across his 18-year, 133 match career, it can be argued that had he begun his career a few years later, when Sri Lanka had already become an established Test side, he would have gotten many more awards. Nevertheless, picking up 800 Test wickets while averaging over 6 wickets per match is simply unparalleled.

2. Ravic

2. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

one rarely hears Ashwin’s name in the same breath as those of any of the others on this list, the spinner has let the numbers do the talking. Ashwin has 9 MotS awards over just 34 series in 84 matches.

3. Jacques

3. Jacques Kallis (South Africa)

rolific all-rounder in Test cricket history, Kallis’ achievements are second to none in his niche. As far as series-wide performances go, he also has 9 MotS awards, but over 166 Tests across 61 series.

4. Imran Kha

4. Imran Khan (Pakistan)

her brilliant ace of both the main disciplines of cricket, Pakistan’s ODI World Cup-winning captain was adjudged Man of the Series 8 times over 88 matches in 28 series.

5. Sir Richard

5. Sir Richard Hadlee (New Zealand)

owling all-rounder and the only person on this list with a Knighthood, Sir Hadlee has the same MotS awards as Khan, but from 86 Tests and 33 series.

6. Shane Warne

6. Shane Warne (Australia)

n legend was Muralitharan’s direct competitor during his playing years, and he aced 8 series across 145 matches in 46 series.

7. Wasim Akram (

7. Wasim Akram (Pakistan)

ing curls into seventh place with 7 Man of the Series awards in 104 Tests, which came across 43 series.

8. Shivnarine Ch

8. Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies)

ps://www.cric-life.com/article/history-of-cricket-in-west-indies/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">West Indian’s batting stance in his later years may have garnered more chuckles than accolades, but he nevertheless had a fantastic career. He was man of the series 7 times across 60 series, playing 164 matches.

9. Malcolm Marshal

9. Malcolm Marshall (West Indies)

st quick bowlers of all time, Marshall played just 21 series in his 81-match career, but was Man of the Series 6 times — which gives him the highest ratio of series played to MotS awards won.

10. Curtly Ambrose (

10. Curtly Ambrose (West Indies)

eed demon, Ambrose only played 27 series during his 98-match career, but was elected the best player in 6 of those series.

Liked? Share:
0   voted
Similar articles
Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2012
Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2012
Read more

The 5th edition of the Indian Premier League saw nine teams competing for the crown, and plenty of thrashings, upsets, and magnificent moments. Although it was quite a year for bowlers as well, the batters had their own very loud say. From Chris Gayle in his prime to a young Robin Uthappa, 2012 had a […]

Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2014
Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2014
Read more

In the high-stakes world of the Indian Premier League, every run counts. A batter can be the darling of the tournament one season only to be relegated to mediocrity the next. When runs make the backbone of the game, the batter to get the most is treasured beyond measure even if his team fails to […]

Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2010
Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2010
Read more

In just its third year of the tournament, IPL 2014 was just as much a spectacle as it is now, just with more novelty. The meta of the T20 format was still in the works, and many of the legends of ODI cricket were still at the top of their game. With pure T20 players […]

Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2017
Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2017
Read more

IPL 2017 was the 10th edition of the tournament that cricket lovers can’t get enough of. From smashing sixes to fabulous fours, here are the top run-scorers for this season of the tournament. Take a look! #5 Suresh Raina This soft-spoken Indian batsman has been a crucial part of the Chennai Super Kings franchise for […]

Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2016
Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2016
Read more

IPL 2016 was as full of fire as a cricket fan expects the tournament to be. In the end, Sunrisers Hyderabad emerged victorious and Royal Challengers Bangalore ended up as runners-ups. In all the matches that were played, these are the batsmen who scored the most runs in IPL 2016. #5 Shikhar Dhawan This powerhouse […]

Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2015
Top Run-Scorers of IPL 2015
Read more

2015 was another amazing season for the shortest and the most entertaining format of cricket – the Indian Premier League. This was the eighth season of the popular tournament that saw Mumbai Indians emerge as the winner. However, all the matches were as exciting and fun as ever for cricket experts and fans. Here are […]