17.02.2021,15:02 3887 0

PSL Winners List in India

PSL Winners List

How does the PSL Winners List look like?

The most recent edition of the Pakistan Super League was held in two phases in 2020. The competition began on the 20th of February and carried on until 15th March when it was put on hold because of the Covid-19 pandemic. With the league stages over, the remaining four playoff games were held in November. Due to poor air quality, the venue for the final was shifted from Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore to the National Stadium in Karachi.

In the final, Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars by five wickets to become champions for the first time.

The performances of each team over the course of five seasons are briefly summarised below:

Teams 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
Lahore Qalandars 5th 5th 6th 6th 2nd
Karachi Kings 4th 3rd 3rd 4th 1st
Peshawar Zalmi 3rd 1st 2nd 2nd 4th
Islamabad United 1st 4th 1st 3rd 6th
Quetta Gladiators 2nd 2nd 4th 1st 5th
Multan Sultans 5th 5th 3rd

As you can see, only Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans have never won the PSL. Also, Islamabad United are the only team to win the Pakistan Super League twice. Earlier, the competition had just five teams until Multan Sultans joined PSL in 2018 to make it a six-team tournament.

PSL Winners List of All Seasons

The first season of the PSL was held in the UAE instead of Pakistan because of inadequate security resources. Islamabad United became the first champions of PSL by winning the inaugural edition. In 2017, Quetta Gladiators the finalists from the previous season ended up losing the final once again. They were defeated by Peshawar Zalmi by a margin of three wickets. Islamabad became the first and only side to win the PSL title twice in 2018. They were then succeeded as champions by the finalists of the first two seasons, Quetta Gladiators. Karachi Kings beat Lahore Qalandars in 2020 and are the current champions of PSL.

Edition Year No. of Teams Winner Runner-Up Winning Margin
1st 2016 5 Islamabad United Quetta Gladiators 6 wickets
2nd 2017 5 Peshawar Zalmi Quetta Gladiators 58 runs
3rd 2018 6 Islamabad United Peshawar Zalmi 3 wickets
4th 2019 6 Quetta Gladiators Peshawar Zalmi 8 wickets
5th 2020 6 Karachi Kings Lahore Qalandars 5 wickets


The format employed in the PSL is double round-robin where every team faces each other twice. The top four sides by the end of the league stages progress to the knockout rounds. The first two teams at the end of the league stages play the first qualifier with the winner directly qualifying for the final. Meanwhile, the loser of the qualifier gets another chance.

The bottom two teams take part in the first eliminator where the loser ends up exiting the competition. The loser of the first eliminator has to take on the loser of the qualifier and that determines who progresses to the final to meet the winner of the first qualifier.

PSL has seen different winners for the Player of the Series Award every year. Ravi Bopara won it in the first season, followed by Kamran Akmal, Luke Ronchi, Shane Watson and Babar Azam in that order.

Liked? Share:
4   voted
Similar articles
Binany review
Binany review in India
Read more

To successfully invest in financial or stock exchanges, you will need to master technical analysis at least at an initial level. Understanding the algorithm of the market provides a large number of prospects. However, the process may be greatly simplified by using trading platforms. Binany is a platform where you can trade stocks, currencies, cryptocurrencies, […]

Kohli Says That Soon It Shall All Be Clear About the SA Tour
Kohli Says That Soon It Shall All Be Clear About the SA Tour
Read more

The world has been put on alert after the discovery of the Omicron strain of Covid-19 in South Africa. Concerns are being expressed about the planned South Africa tour by India’s limited overs and test cricket sides. India’s test skipper, Virat Kohli, told media on 2 December that the Indian team was engaging in a […]

It's Been Unusual' - Root on England's Ashes Preparation
It’s Been Unusual’ – Root on England’s Ashes Preparation
Read more

The England squad’s preparations for the Ashes series have not been perfect, as admitted by skipper Joe Root. The Test series is due to begin at the Gabba in Brisbane on 8 December. The match that the senior squad was due to play against England Lions was washed out by rain. A second four-day game […]

Rahul Dravid and Rohit Shares Do Communicate Venkatesh Iyer
Rahul Dravid and Rohit Shares Do Communicate: Venkatesh Iyer
Read more

After the debut match for India, Venkatesh Iyer plans to take one step at a time. He was selected to play in the three-match T20I series against New Zealand. The player scored 36 runs in three matches with an average of 18.00. Moreover, he took one wicket in 3 overs in the final T20I match […]

Pat Cummins Is a Capable Candidate for Leading the Australian Team
Pat Cummins Is a Capable Candidate for Leading the Australian Team
Read more

As the Ashes Test series draws near, Australia has announced their squad to feature in the 2021/22 Ashes. In addition to naming debutants in their team, there has been a lot of talk around the captaincy position that Tim Paine is currently holding. According to reports, the Australian captain underwent treatment to fix a bulging […]

Eoin Morgan Says James Neesham’s Aggressive Knock Won New Zealand Semifinal
Eoin Morgan: Neesham’s Aggressive Knock Won New Zealand Semifinal
Read more

Following England’s penultimate-over loss against the Kiwis, captain Eoin Morgan stated that New Zealand middle-order batter James Neesham’s quickfire 27 was the key to the Black Caps’ victory. The England captain, 35, also said that while the team was considerably upset, they were nevertheless extremely proud of his team for having put up as good […]