Big Bash League History and Records

Big Bash League History and Records
19.02.2021,15:02 231 0

Top Records in BBL History

Most Runs

There are seven players who have got in excess of 2000 runs in the BBL. But it is Chris Lynn who leads the BBL run charts with 2790 runs. Aaron Finch is placed second with 2431 runs. Glenn Maxwell (2205), Shaun Marsh (2196), Marcus Stoinis (2137), D’Arcy Short (2109) and Jonathan Wells (2053) are next on the list of the most runs in the history of the BBL.

Highest Individual Score

There have been 26 instances of a batsman scoring a hundred in the BBL but only three times has a batsman gone past the score of 120. Marcus Stoinis holds the record for the highest individual score in the BBL. He smashed an unbeaten 147 while playing for Melbourne Stars against Sydney Sixers in January 2020. A couple of weeks later, Matthew Wade set the record for the second-highest score when he made 130 not out for Hobart Hurricanes against Adelaide Strikers. D’Arcy Short was the first one to go past 120 when he scored 122 not out against Brisbane Heat in January 2018.

Most Sixes

It comes as no surprise that Chris Lynn tops the most sixes list in the BBL as well. The Brisbane Heat skipper has smoked 172 sixes in the BBL and no one is even close. Glenn Maxwell is second on the list but has only 97 sixes. Ben Cutting (88), Aaron Finch (86), Dan Christian (86) and D’Arcy Short (79) are the others who have hit more than 75 sixes.

Big Bash League History and Records

Most Fifties

It is Chris Lynn once again who is at the top of the tree for the most fifties and fifty-plus scores in the BBL. Lynn has scored 23 half-centuries and one hundred in 90 BBL games. Shaun Marsh has scored 20 half-centuries while D’Arcy Short and Aaron Finch have 18 fifties and two hundreds each.

Most Hundreds

No player has scored more than two hundreds in the history of the BBL. There are as many as six players who have exactly two BBL hundreds. Aaron Finch, D’Arcy Short, Usman Khawaja, Alex Carey, Luke Wright and Craig Simmons have all scored two tons each in their BBL careers.

Most Runs in a Single Season

Marcus Stoinis holds the record for the most runs in a single BBL season. He got 705 runs in the 2019-20 season. D’Arcy Short is second with 637 runs scored in the 2018-19 edition. There have been seven other instances of batsmen getting in excess of 500 runs in a single BBL season.

Most Wickets

There are only two players who have picked up more than 100 wickets in the history of the BBL. Ben Laughlin is at the top of the pile with 111 wickets while Sean Abbott follows him closely with 106 wickets. Kane Richardson (98) and Andrew Tye (93) are closing in on that 100-wicket mark as well.

Best Bowling Figures

There have been 18 instances of a player picking up a five-wicket haul in the history of the BBL. However, only two players have got six-fers and both overseas. Lasith Malinga holds the record for the best bowling figures as he took six for seven while playing for Melbourne Stars against Perth Scorchers in the 2012-13 season. Ish Sodhi picked up 6/11 in the 2016-17 season while playing for Adelaide Strikers against Sydney Thunder.

Big Bash League History and Records

Most Wickets in a Single Season

Daniel Sams is the record holder for the most wickets in a single season. The left-arm pacer took 30 wickets in the 2019-20 season for Sydney Thunder. Jhye Richardson came close to beat that record in the recent 2020-21 season as Perth Scorchers’ fast bowler picked up 29 wickets. Kane Richardson was the previous holder of the record as he took 24 wickets in the 2018-19 season.

Most Four-Wicket Hauls

Andrew Tye has the most number of four-wicket hauls in the BBL. He has taken six so far. Dan Christian and Kane Richardson have taken four each while Jhye Richardson and Sean Abbott have three four-wicket hauls apiece.

Most Five-wicket hauls

Dan Christian is the only bowler who has taken a five-wicket haul twice in the BBL. There are 16 other bowlers who have taken one fifer.

Most BBL Titles

Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers are the only two teams to have won multiple BBL titles. Perth Scorchers were the first ones to do it as they won three seasons in four years. They were also the first team in the history of the BBL to successfully defend their title. Sydney Sixers won the first edition before winning the last two. Thus, Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers have three BBL titles each.

Most Wins by a Team

Perth Scorchers have played the most number of BBL games and have also recorded the most number of wins i.e. 64 wins from 114 games. Sydney Sixers are not too far behind as they have 62 wins from 111 matches. Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Strikers and Hobart Hurricanes have more than 50 wins, while Brisbane Heat, Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Thunder haven’t touched the 50 wins mark yet.


The BBL started in the 2011-12 season and Sydney Sixers were the inaugural champions. Brisbane Heat pulled off a title win in the 2012-13 season. Perth Scorchers then won back-to-back titles in 2013-14 and 2014-15 before winning against in 2016-17. In between, Sydney Thunder emerged victorious in 2015-16. Adelaide Strikers and Melbourne Renegades won their maiden BBL titles in 2017-18 and 2018-19 respectively. Meanwhile, Sydney Sixers have won two in a row and are the current BBL champions as well.

2011-12Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2012-13Brisbane HeatPerth Scorchers
2013-14Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes
2014-15Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015-16Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2016-17Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2017-18Adelaide StrikersHobart Hurricanes
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne Renegades
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers

Liked? Share:
16   voted

Responses (0)

Similar articles
Highest-Paid BBL Players
Highest-Paid BBL Players
Read more

Most Expensive Players in Big Bash League D’Arcy Short – Hobart Hurricanes ($258,900) D’Arcy Short is the most expensive player in the history of the BBL. His salary totals $258,900 and he is the only player who is above the $250,000 bracket. The left-handed opener has been playing in the BBL only for the last […]

Indian Players in the BBL
Indian Players in the BBL
Read more

Are There Indian Players in the BBL? In 2008, the landscape of franchise cricket changed forever with the advent of the Indian Premier League (IPL). And since then, a lot of other countries followed suit and launched their own T20 leagues as well. It was back in the 2011-12 season that the first edition of […]

Big Bash League Teams and Players
Big Bash League Teams and Players
Read more

We look at the eight teams that compete in the Big Bash League and their squads during the league’s 10th season of 2020-21. Though many players were expected to skip the competition owing to the pandemic, the tournament was an unqualified success, with every team well represented by domestic and overseas players. How the Teams […]

Top BBL Run Scorers
Top BBL Run Scorers
Read more

T20 cricket has boomed all over the world and few countries have embraced the revolution as whole-heartedly as Australia. The BBL is a franchise competition that launched in 2011 – reminiscent of the model used in India for the IPL. With the same 8 teams in action every year, the Big Bash League is one […]

BBL Winners List since 2011
BBL Winners List since 2011
Read more

In this article, we look at the title-winning teams in the Big Bash League since the inaugural season of 2011-12.  BBL Winners List of All Seasons Season Winner Runner-Up Result (Win Margin) 2011-12 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers 7 wickets 2012-13 Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers 34 runs 2013-14 Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes 39 runs 2014-15 Perth […]