06.10.2020,16:10 1664 0

T20 Mumbai League in India

T20 Mumbai League


In this article, we are going to give details about the T20 Mumbai League, paying attention to  how and why it was formed, what goals it is aimed at fulfilling, the structure of the competition and the rules and regulations that govern it. Six teams from Mumbai, India – NaMo Bandra Blasters, Shivaji Park Lions, Triumph Knights Mumbai North East, SoBo Supersonics, ARCS Andheri and North Mumbai Panthers – took part in the inaugural competition in 2018.


About T20 Mumbai League

he Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) began the professional T20 league in 2018 to provide a cricketing structure that would help with identifying, developing and promoting the best local talent as well as to create a platform for future cricketing superstars to play together. The MCA has sought the assistance of event management companies such as Probability Sports, India Infoline Ltd (IIFL) and Wizcraft International Entertainment Pvt Ltd to help run the competition.


Round-Robin Format

he competition is run in a round-robin league format with the teams divided into two groups of four each. Two points are awarded for every win and one point for a no-result. In case of a tie in the number of points earned by two teams, the team with the higher net run rate is ranked higher. (The rules are like those applied to the IPL.) The winners of each group meet the runners-up of the other group in a semifinal. The winners of the semifinals meet in the final to decide the champions.


History and Current Teams

strong>Aakash Tigers MWS, ARCS Andheri, Eagle Thane Strikers, NaMo Bandra Blasters, North Mumbai Panthers, Shivaji Park Lions, SoBo Supersonics and Triumph Knights Mumbai North East are the current teams in the T20 Mumbai League. The number of participants increased from 6 to 8 in the 2019 season. The teams feature several players who have represented India internationally, including Shreyas Iyer and Prithvi Shaw among others.


The 2019 Season

orth Mumbai Panthers beat SoBo SuperSonics in the final to win the competition in 2019. As in 2018, the final was played at the Wankhede Stadium. Batting first, North Mumbai Panthers scored 143/7 in their allotted overs. SoBo SuperSonics, in reply, were bowled out for 131 in 19.4 overs, making North Mumbai Panthers the victors by 12 runs.


Semifinal Results

arlier, North Mumbai Panthers, who topped Group A, beat Group B runners-up, ARCS Andheri, in the first semifinal on 24 May 2019. Batting first, ARCS Andheri scored 166/6. In a thrilling finish, North Mumbai Panthers accomplished the target on the last ball of the game with 2 wickets in hand. In the other semifinal held on 25 May 2019, Group B toppers SoBo Supersonics beat Group A runners-up Akash Tigers. Batting first, Supersonics scored 217/4. In reply, Tigers could make only 191/9, handing Supersonics the win by 26 runs.


The 2018 Season

strong>Triumph Knights Mumbai North East won the 2018 tournament, beating Shivaji Park Lions in the final played at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium on 12 March 2018. Batting first, Triumph Knights scored 182/5 in their allotted overs. Replying, Lions could manage to score only 179/8, paving the way for Triumph Knights to win by 3 runs.


Single Round-Robin Group

he teams in 2018 played in a single round-robin group; the top four teams qualified for the playoffs. The top two, SoBo SuperSonics and Triumph Knights Mumbai North East, met in the first qualifier that Triumph Knights won. In that game held on 19 March, Triumph Knights batted first and posted a score of 162/6 before bowling out Supersonics for 122 to register a 40-run win. The third and fourth-placed teams, NaMo Bandra Blasters and Shivaji Park Lions, met in the eliminator in which the Lions emerged victorious. In that match which took place on 19 March, NaMo Bandra Blasters batted first to score 169/4. Replying, Shivaji Park Lions chased down the target with 6 wickets and 14 balls to spare. In the second qualifier, the Lions beat the Supersonics. In that match held on 20 March, SoBo Supersonics made 194/7 in the first innings of the game. Shivaji Park Lions replied with 195/4, needing only 17.5 overs to scale the target and qualify to meet the Knights in the final.

Liked? Share:
0   voted
Similar articles
Binany review
Binany review in India
Read more

To successfully invest in financial or stock exchanges, you will need to master technical analysis at least at an initial level. Understanding the algorithm of the market provides a large number of prospects. However, the process may be greatly simplified by using trading platforms. Binany is a platform where you can trade stocks, currencies, cryptocurrencies, […]

Kohli Says That Soon It Shall All Be Clear About the SA Tour
Kohli Says That Soon It Shall All Be Clear About the SA Tour
Read more

The world has been put on alert after the discovery of the Omicron strain of Covid-19 in South Africa. Concerns are being expressed about the planned South Africa tour by India’s limited overs and test cricket sides. India’s test skipper, Virat Kohli, told media on 2 December that the Indian team was engaging in a […]

It's Been Unusual' - Root on England's Ashes Preparation
It’s Been Unusual’ – Root on England’s Ashes Preparation
Read more

The England squad’s preparations for the Ashes series have not been perfect, as admitted by skipper Joe Root. The Test series is due to begin at the Gabba in Brisbane on 8 December. The match that the senior squad was due to play against England Lions was washed out by rain. A second four-day game […]

Rahul Dravid and Rohit Shares Do Communicate Venkatesh Iyer
Rahul Dravid and Rohit Shares Do Communicate: Venkatesh Iyer
Read more

After the debut match for India, Venkatesh Iyer plans to take one step at a time. He was selected to play in the three-match T20I series against New Zealand. The player scored 36 runs in three matches with an average of 18.00. Moreover, he took one wicket in 3 overs in the final T20I match […]

Pat Cummins Is a Capable Candidate for Leading the Australian Team
Pat Cummins Is a Capable Candidate for Leading the Australian Team
Read more

As the Ashes Test series draws near, Australia has announced their squad to feature in the 2021/22 Ashes. In addition to naming debutants in their team, there has been a lot of talk around the captaincy position that Tim Paine is currently holding. According to reports, the Australian captain underwent treatment to fix a bulging […]

Eoin Morgan Says James Neesham’s Aggressive Knock Won New Zealand Semifinal
Eoin Morgan: Neesham’s Aggressive Knock Won New Zealand Semifinal
Read more

Following England’s penultimate-over loss against the Kiwis, captain Eoin Morgan stated that New Zealand middle-order batter James Neesham’s quickfire 27 was the key to the Black Caps’ victory. The England captain, 35, also said that while the team was considerably upset, they were nevertheless extremely proud of his team for having put up as good […]